October 9, 2013

  • Wondersleep

    Sleep

    Wondersleep

    Formless

    Fathomless wondersleep

     

    Infinite sandmists

    Smothermists

     

    Blinded

    Sandblinded

    Unable to waken

    Sandsmothered

    Sandchoked

     

    Soaring now

    Sandlines below

    Drawn without permission

    Sensing shadowlines

    Sensing unease

     

    Whipped sleep granules

    Grind under lids

    Tremble

     

    Eyelids tremble

    Shaken shaken shake

    Choking choke

    Eyelids tremble

    Wake up

    For God's sake

    Wake up!

    Wake up!

     

Comments (3)

  • I need to have some deep hard to wake sleep. Very gripping poem - almost terrifying at the end...

  • I love that poem, especially since this morning I awakened from a vivid dream involving my need to straighten up my house and clean out a bunch of accumulated junk, and after (in the dream) sorting out stuff, I went to the dining room table (in the dream) and next to my seat was Daisy Mae, the Schnauzer who has been a guest resident for the past few weeks, scarfing up my food.

    In your comment, you referenced a memorial poem about Don Larsen's perfect game. Could you provide me with the month and year of that post, so that I could search your archives?

    Thanks.

  • Never mind, I was able to find it by typing "The Perfect Game" into the search box. Beautiful poem. Here is the comment I made there:

    I loved the whole thing, down to and especially the footnote decrying the mammoth difference between today and yesteryear. The lifeblood of baseball is tied up with statistics, and statistics have been rendered meaningless as a result of ...

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *