May 6, 2013

  •  

     

     

                     Star Ice

     

                        He listens to the undulating ice

                        Diamonded by a solemnity of stars

                        It cleaves last summer's mackerel sea

                        It creeps through kelp-stilled glittering shoal

                        It cracks with music scratched on glacial bars

     

     

                        But for this sound no sound is heard

                        No startled bird no diesel growl - A penetrating fright

                        Crawls through ear-holes into pale veins

                        Buried just under his scalp to flick those sensors birthed

                        Within this billion-year cauldron now so white

     

     

                        It is here dimension ceases to exist

                        It is here under this pitiless gaze of celestial eyes

                        Where terror grips an anchorless flesh

                        Where ululations sound remorselessly unheard except by him

                        To lavalize the mind's malaise

     

     

                        Carefully he picks his way across the glistening ledge

                        His shattered knees barely supportive of his form

                        Perceptiveness lost to this insensate state

                        Struck dumb - Incredulous - Why is he here?

                        What has coerced and driven him to this destructive storm

     

     

                        Of carrion thought? - Of bitter and humiliating rage?

                        Bound now to harsh and unforgiving blips of light

                        With no consideration of his wants and needs

                        He is uncounted - Baffled - Lost inside this stricken dome

                        Blinded by frozen firmament that sears bituminous night

     

     

     

     

     

Comments (4)

  • What a phenomenal tribute to the wonders of nature that instill fear in the hearts of strong men! I love it Mr. Manos. The third stanza is gripping and tells it all.
    I had no problem viewing this. I hope there will be more xangans who will come and read this beautiful reflection of the pensive mind.

  • Having read “Wallabout” before this one, I was struck by this poem’s opposite scenario. Without walls, or boundaries we become fearful and lost. I am not sure what you had in mind here, but for me the shattered knees conjured one image of an elder who can’t keep up and is left behind to die. What a beautifully cruel way to go. Interesting how even the sound of a diesel can be comforting and seem natural. “Carrion thought,” is he the hunter or the hunted? ----Peter, I don’t know why I don’t get notices of your posts in my email as I do others followed.

  • @ElaineWestheimer - Thank you for the read... I am now 87 but I spent some time alone a few years ago at our summer home on an island off the coast of Maine... I wrote this during those frozen moonless February nights... Lobster fishing over months past and absolutely no sign of human life for miles in any direction... I wish every human could experience moments such as this... I have never been so frightened in my life... I think you'll understand...

     

  • The solitude must have been quite an experience. Maine is a place I hope to visit some day, though, city girl that I am, I will probably head to Portland. Also thanks for reading my latest, and for adding “ideographic” to my vocabulary. :) --Best to you, Elaine

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment